Animal Shelter Advisory Board

Members Term Expires
Dr. Shelly R. Mitchel 11/2025
Jodie L. Stryker 11/2024
Shannon Harvill 11/2025
Delia Gamez 11/2024
Minerva Simpson 11/2026
Brittney McCorkle 11/2025

* Each board member continues to serve until they get reappointed or a new appointee is made once their term is expired.


The Animal Shelter Board consists of six members with a minimum term limit of two years. There are no term limits. Members are appointed by the Mayor and City Commission and shall be composed of at least one licensed veterinarian, one municipal officer, one person whose duties include the shelter's daily operation, one representative from an animal welfare organization and two citizens.


The basic purpose of the Animal Shelter Advisory Committee is to assist in and ensure compliance with requirements of Chapter 823 of the Health & Safety Code of the State of Texas regulating Animal Shelters.