Utility Board of Trustees

Members Term Expires
Mike Garza 05/2026
Michael M.  Murphy 05/2027
Chris Bartnesky 05/2027
Steve Brewer 05/2027
Maru De la Paz 05/2027

* Each board member continues to serve until they get reappointed or a new appointee is made once their term is expired.
The Utility Board of Trustees shall consist of five appointive members and the Mayor and City Manager of the City as ex-officio, non-voting members. Each voting member shall be at least 18 years old and a resident of the City of Harlingen. All appointees, made by the City Commission, shall serve no more than two consecutive four-year terms.


The Utility Board of Trustees shall have the managing control and operation of the city waterworks system and city sewer system owned and operated by the City except for (1) the final adoption of rates and wholesale contracts for such city-owned utility systems (to be adopted by the City Commission); (2) Any bond issue request shall be submitted to the City Commission for approval.